Lights On Luncheon

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, our 2021 Lights On Luncheon has been canceled.

Thank you to our 2019 sponsors!

Lumina Foundation logo

Pile CPAs logo

Kightlinger Gray logo

Thank you to our 2019 donors!

  • Justin Armstrong
  • Caitlin Bain
  • Robyn Baker
  • Rob Bartley
  • Sara Beanblossom
  • Lisa Blankman
  • Roberta Bowser
  • Joe Brown
  • Matt Bruhn
  • Jenny Burch
  • Esther Carter-Day
  • Kaus Christopher
  • Ellen Clippinger
  • Ellen Coan
  • Jill Conrad
  • Judith Cunningham
  • Cheryl Curry
  • Sandy Dale
  • Vickie Davis
  • Brian Dinkins
  • Joshua Doty
  • Tonja Eagan
  • Barb Elliott
  • Peggy Fisherkeller
  • JD Ford

  • Andrea Freund
  • Megan Garver
  • Mary Catharine Grau
  • Maureen Grey
  • Jim Grim
  • Susan Hall
  • Kelsey Hambleton
  • Jen Hancock
  • Chuck Harr
  • Andrew Hedegard
  • Karissa Hendricks
  • Margaret Higgs
  • Gurinder Hohl
  • Becca Hopson
  • Mary Beth Kohart
  • Matthew Lang
  • Tonia Lotz
  • Marcia Mahony
  • James McClelland
  • Angela McGinley
  • Janette Milborn
  • Diane Miller
  • Pam Miller
  • Karen Momper

  • Colleen Moran
  • Jennifer Niemeyer
  • Matt O’Connor
  • Vickie Patrick
  • Michael Petry
  • Nancy Pitt
  • Brandi Poling
  • Nikol Prieto
  • Susan Reinhardt
  • John Ressley
  • Chris Robinson
  • Gail Romine-Odegbami
  • Rafael Sanchez
  • Abbe Shapiro
  • Liz Snyder
  • Ray Stapleton
  • Gail Thomas Strong
  • Chrystal Struben
  • Laura Tagliani
  • Michael Twyman
  • Lisa Vielee
  • Scott Warner
  • Melissa Wilson
  • Suzannah Wilson Overholt
  • Tanya Woodward

What is Lights On Afterschool?

The Afterschool Alliance began promoting the importance of after-school programs in 1999 with the first Lights On Afterschool Day, a day for communities across the nation to raise awareness of the crucial contributions that after-school programs make to students, families, schools and the community. In 2019, the National Lights on Afterschool Day was held on October 29. AYS celebrated our fourth annual Lights On Luncheon on Tuesday, October 29, 2019. According to the 2014 report of America After 3PM, 11.3 million children in the United States remain unsupervised between the hours of 3 and 6 p.m. on weekdays. This issue goes beyond concerns about supervision and child safety. These children are losing the opportunity to participate in art and music classes, science experiments, field trips, and all the other activities that take place in after-school programs across the country. As school systems trim their budgets, after-school programs are filling in the gaps, but students who don’t attend after-school programs can’t participate in these opportunities. With your help, AYS can provide financial assistance to children from low-income, working families who otherwise would not be able to attend our programs.

Emceed by Rafael Sanchez

Rafael Sanchez_1345485009827_32122_ver1.0_320_240Emmy-award-winning reporter Rafael Sanchez joined RTV6 in 1998 as a consumer investigator. He has won numerous awards for excellence in journalism including Best Metro TV Reporter award from the Associated Press in 2013 and 2014. In the past, he has also received the Best Consumer reporting awards from the Society of Professional Journalists Indiana chapter. Community service is priority and a passion. Every year, he enjoys participating in about 20 charitable events around central Indiana. He admits that anything involving Latin Ballroom fundraisers are among his favorites. In 2014, he won the “Johnson County Dancing With the Stars” event raising money for homeless youth.

Past Lights On Luncheons

Thanks to all who have made our past events so successful. Combined, the events from the past three years have raised more than $100,000 for the Ellen Clippinger Fund to provide scholarships for more children to attend AYS programs. Dr. Robyn Silverman, who is often featured on The Today Show, Good Morning America and many other daytime programs, provided the keynote address in 2016, and Eric Rowles, a nationally recognized trainer, speaker, and consultant, inspired as the keynote speaker in 2017.